## 2024 Luke Howard Award



The IAUC is pleased to announce the call for nominations for the 2024 'Luke Howard Award' for **outstanding contributions to the field of urban climatology** in a combination of **research**, **teaching**, **and/or service** to the international community of urban climatologists. The IAUC is committed to promoting equality and diversity. Therefore, we particularly encourage nominations for suitable candidates from under-represented groups.

The person making the nomination will act as the coordinator to put together a nomination package (details given below). Self-nominations are not permitted, and current Awards Committee members can only be nominated if they step back from their role on the Committee for the period that the nomination is active. Complete nomination packages should be submitted (as a single electronic submission) to the IAUC Awards Committee Chair, **Prof Zhiwen (Vincent) Luo:** <u>luoz18@cardiff.ac.uk</u> by Friday 19 July 2024.

Luke Howard Award Nomination Process:

- Inform the Awards Committee Chair of the intent to nominate an individual. The intent to nominate should be communicated via email to the Awards Committee Chair by Friday 21 June 2024.
- Nomination materials should be collected by the coordinator (i.e. the person notifying the Awards Committee Chair that a particular individual will be nominated).
- The coordinator should collect and submit the following documentation in a single pdf file:
  - a one-page cover letter from the nomination coordinator (optional)
  - a three-page candidate-CV
  - three letters of recommendation (of no more than two pages in length) from IAUC members from at least two different countries. The nomination coordinator can, but does not have to, provide one of the letters of recommendation. Any individual providing a letter of support should do so for a maximum of one candidate for the Luke Howard Award in each year.
  - Complete packages should reach the Awards Committee Chair by Friday 19 July 2024.

The IAUC Awards committee will then recommend the name of a recipient for consideration and approval by the IAUC Board. Nominations will be active for three years, and updated information may be submitted for consideration in the second and third years.

Previous winners of the Luke Howard Award are:

- 2023 Prof Jason Ching, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, United States
- 2022 Prof. James Voogt, University of Western Ontario, Canada
- 2021 Dr Gerald Mills, University College Dublin, Ireland,
- 2020 Dr Alberto Martilli, CIEMAT, Spain
- 2019 Professor Janet Barlow, University of Reading, UK
- 2018 Professor Wilhelm Kuttler, University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany
- 2016 Dr Walter Dabberdt, Vaisala Group, USA
- 2015 Professor Emeritus Anthony Brazel, Arizona State University, USA
- 2014 Professor Manabu Kanda, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
- 2013 Professor Emeritus Yair Goldreich, Bar-Ilan University, Israel
- 2010 Professor John Arnfield, The Ohio State University, USA
- 2009 Professor Sue Grimmond, King's College, UK
- 2008 Professor Bob Bornstein, San José State University, USA

- 2007 Professor (Emeritus) Masatoshi Yoshino, University of Tsukuba, Japan
- 2006 Professor Arieh Bitan, Tel Aviv University, Israel
- 2005 Professor Ernesto Jauregui, UNAM, Mexico
- 2004 Professor Tim Oke, UBC, Canada